Gala Journal

Click the link above to view Roundabout's digital Gala Journal featuring greetings from friends and fans of Sam Mendes! 

An impressive list of Broadway and Hollywood stars will be in attendance to honor Sam Mendes. See who will be there.


Support Roundabout. Make a secure donation today.

Submit Donation

Thank you!

In Here, Life is Beautiful:

Spring Gala 2014
Celebrating the Extraordinary Sam Mendes

Thank you for supporting Roundabout’s Spring Gala 2014: In Here, Life is Beautiful. It was truly a spectacular night as we celebrated the extraordinary Sam Mendes and presented him with the Jason Robards Award for Excellence in Theatre. In addition to a cocktail reception, dinner and live auction, guests enjoyed a star-studded tribute to Sam. We were delighted by performances from Alan Cumming and the Kit Kat Klub Band, Brian d’Arcy James, Aaron Krohn, Kevin Chamberlain, Marc Shaiman, Bernadette Peters and more. We also heard from Sam’s collaborators and admirers including Dame Helen Mirren, Jeremy Irons, Liam Neeson, Juliet Rylance, Scott Wittman, and Jonny Cake plus video messages from Daniel Craig, Kevin Spacey and Dame Judi Dench. We are so grateful to everyone who helped make this Roundabouts’ most financially successful Gala ever. All proceeds from this event will benefit Roundabout Theatre Company’s Musical Theatre Fund and Education programs.

Monday, March 10, 2014
6:00pm               Private Artist Reception for Underwriter Tickets & Above
7:00pm               Dinner & Live Auction
9:00pm               Tribute to Sam Mendes
Hammerstein Ballroom
311 West 34th Street
New York, NY

Roundabout Theatre Company presents Sam Mendes with the Jason Robards Award for Excellence in Theatre.
The Jason Robards Award for Excellence in Theatre is named after the late Jason Robards for his longstanding relationship with Roundabout and memorable body of stage work. It is given to those who have made an indelible impact on both Roundabout and the theatre world.
Gala Chairs
Jeanne Hagerty
Johannes (Johs) Worsoe, Mitsubishi UFJ Financial Group
Vice Chairs
The Alec Baldwin Foundation
Bill Borrelle & John Hearn
Barbara Broccoli & Michael G. Wilson
Mary Cirillo-Goldberg & Jay Goldberg
Michael T. Cohen,
   Colliers International NY LLC
Jodi & Dan Glucksman
Sylvia Golden
Kiendl & John Gordon
Stephanie & Ron Kramer
Lisa & Gregg Rechler
Janet & Marvin Rosen
Diane & Tom Tuft
Auction Chair
Sylvia Golden
Auction Vice Chair
Janis Ing Strauss
Journal Chairs
Henry Cooperman
Steven Schroko
Executive Producer
Sydney Beers

Artistic Director
Todd Haimes

Director GT Upchurch
Assistant to the Director Sharone Halvey
Musical Director Patrick Vaccariello
Scenic Design Timothy Mackabee
Choreographer Josh Prince
Composer Mark Bennett
Associate Composer Curtis Moore


Spirit Sponsor

 Wine Sponsor


Sam Mendes photo by Brigitte Lacombe