You are currently processing an exchange. Remove Code Cancel Order

Roundabout Underground® fosters new works by emerging theatre artists.

It allows Roundabout to take artistic risks that are not viable on its larger stages, whether giving a debut production to an emerging writer or allowing an experienced director to go back to his or her creative roots.

In addition to receiving an opportunity to debut their works as full-scale productions, up-and-coming playwrights receive the significant artistic and financial support of the country's largest not-for-profit theatre and a nurturing environment in which to debut their work.

Roundabout Underground productions are produced in Roundabout's Black Box Theatre located within the Harold and Miriam Steinberg Center for Theatre.

We gratefully acknowledge
the Roundabout Leaders for New Works
  • Alec Baldwin
    James Costa and John Archibald
    Linda L. D’Onofrio
    Peggy and Mark Ellis
    Carson Gleberman
    Sylvia Golden
    Jeanne Hagerty
    Angelina Lippert
    K. Myers
    Laura Pels International Foundation for Theater
    Mary Solomon
    Harold and Mimi Steinberg Charitable Trust

New Play Initiative

Roundabout is committed to supporting and developing the creation of new works through our New Play Initiative.

Your support of the Underground

helps us foster the next generation of groundbreaking playwrights.


Roundabout Underground Production History

Covenant by York Walker 2023
the bandaged place by Harrison David Rivers 2022
Exception to the Rule by Dave Harris, Tow Playwright-in-Residence 2022
English by Sanaz Toossi 2022
Darling Grenadine by Daniel Zaitchik 2020
Something Clean by Selina Fillinger 2019
Usual Girls by Ming Peiffer 2018
Bobbie Clearly by Alex Lubischer, Tow Playwright-in-Residence 2018
Too Heavy for Your Pocket by Mansa Ra 2017
On the Exhale by Martín Zimmerman 2017
Kingdom Come by Jenny Rachel Weiner, Tow Playwright-in-Residence 2016
Ugly Lies the Bone by Lindsey Ferrentino 2015
Little Children Dream of God by Jeff Augustin, Tow Playwright-in-Residence 2015
Too Much, Too Much, Too Many by Meghan Kennedy 2013
Bad Jews by Joshua Harmon 2012
Suicide, Incorporated by Andrew Hinderaker 2011
The Dream of the Burning Boy by David West Read 2011
Tigers Be Still by Kim Rosenstock 2010
Ordinary Days by Adam Gwon 2009
The Language of Trees by Steven Levenson 2008
Speech & Debate by Stephen Karam 2007