You are currently processing an exchange. Remove Code Cancel Order
Purple Background
1776 written in red bold text. In the center of the 6 is an egg painted the Union Jack colors with an arm popping out holding the American flag. Artwork for 1776


September 16, 2022—January 8, 2023

Todd Haimes Theatre


September 16, 2022—January 8, 2023

Select a Package

One show on Broadway is making—and re-making—history every night. 

The Tony Award-winning Best Musical 1776 has catapulted to blazing new life in a thrillingly new production, and New York Magazine/Vulture
says, “it’s an absolute blast!” Suddenly, the songs, humor, and passion of this musical masterpiece soar as never before.

A glorious multiracial cast of female, transgender, and nonbinary actors portrays the fiery founders of this country, putting history in the hands of the humans who were left out the first time around—and the result is an epic show of passion, debate, and roof-raising musical fireworks. Experience “a 1776 worth celebrating!” (Variety) “It pulsates with energy and snaps with attitude.”

Running time: Two hours and forty-five minutes, including one fifteen-minute intermission.

Please be advised: This production contains stylized representations of racialized violence, particularly related to enslavement. Additionally, this production contains sexually suggestive themes, occasional strong language, haze, a brief strobe effect, a non-firing replica firearm, and a gunshot sound effect.

1776 Cast

Robert Livingston (NY)
Gisela Adisa
Thomas Jefferson (VA)
Nancy Anderson
Col. Thomas McKean (DE)
Becca Ayers
Andrew McNair, Congressional Custodian
Tiffani Barbour
John Dickinson (PA)
Carolee Carmello
Abigail Adams / Rev. Jonathan Witherspoon (NJ)
Allyson Kaye Daniel
Charles Thomson, Secretary
Mehry Eslaminia
Stephen Hopkins (RI)
Joanna Glushak
Richard Henry Lee (VA)
Shawna Hamic
Martha Jefferson / Dr. Lyman Hall (GA)
Eryn LeCroy
John Adams (MA)
Kristolyn Lloyd
John Hancock, President of the Congress
Liz Mikel
Benjamin Franklin (PA)
Patrena Murray
Joseph Hewes (NC)
Oneika Phillips
Samuel Chase (MD)
Lulu Picart
Edward Rutledge (SC)
Sara Porkalob
Judge James Wilson (PA)
Sushma Saha
George Read (DE)
Ariella Serur
Roger Sherman (CT)
Brooke Simpson
Salome B. Smith
Dr. Josiah Bartlett (NH)
Sav Souza
Caesar Rodney (DE)
Jill Vallery
Shelby Acosta
Grace Stockdale
Dawn L. Troupe
Imani Pearl Williams
Gwynne Wood

1776 Creative

Music and Lyrics
Sherman Edwards
Peter Stone
Based on a Concept by
Sherman Edwards
Jeffrey L. Page and Diane Paulus
Jeffrey L. Page
Set Design
Scott Pask
Costume Design
Emilio Sosa
Lighting Design
Jen Schriever
Sound Design
Jonathan Deans
Projection Design
David Bengali
Hair & Wig Design
Mia Neal
Fight Choreographer
Thomas Schall
Dialect Coach
Dawn-Elin Fraser
John Clancy
Music Direction
Ryan Cantwell
Vocal Design
AnnMarie Milazzo
Music Coordinator
Dean Sharenow
Associate Director
Brisa Areli Muñoz
Music Supervision
David Chase


Roundabout is pleased to offer GalaPro, a free app for live transcription and audio description that you can use on your personal smartphone device. Free captions are available in Spanish with GalaPro. Download the GalaPro app from the app store or Google Play.

  • Audio description is now available
  • Closed captioning is now available
  • Spanish Language Subtitles is now available


Discover the artists and history behind 1776 in the Upstage Playgoer’s Guide. 



1776 is a co-production with The American Repertory Theater.

Production support of 1776 at A.R.T: Katie and Paul Buttenwieser, The Linda Hammett Ory & Andrew Ory Charitable Trust, Allison Johnson, and Serena and Bill Lese.

Underwriting support for 1776 is provided by Elizabeth Armstrong. 

1776 benefits from Roundabout’s Musical Production Fund with lead gifts from the Horace W. Goldsmith Foundation, Michael Kors and Lance Le Pere, Diane and Tom Tuft, and Cynthia C. Wainwright and Stephen Berger. 

1776 is made possible by the Champions for Inclusive Theatre and Roundabout’s Forward Fund. We acknowledge the generous friends who support our many efforts to increase representation and inclusion in all aspects of theatre: Elizabeth Armstrong, Bank of America, Eugene and Joann Bissell and the Lillian Lincoln Foundation, Kevin Brown, Barbara and Peter Bye, Ginger McKnight Chavers, Ford Foundation, Jill and Barry Lafer, Gina Maria Leonetti, Iva Mills, Beryl Snyder, and Denise Littlefield Sobel.

The empty house of the Todd Haimes Theatre with a wash of purple light over the seats, and a chandelier hangs at the top of the theatre.

Presented at

Todd Haimes Theatre

227 West 42nd Street, New York, NY

between 7th and 8th Avenues