You are currently processing an exchange. Remove Code Cancel Order
Artwork for 1776


September 16, 2022—January 8, 2023

American Airlines Theatre℠


September 16, 2022—January 8, 2023

Select a Package

What will it take to get two dozen powerfully passionate, exceedingly complicated, and all-too-human individuals to settle their differences, while they hold the very future of a nation in their hands? This Tony Award-winning Best Musical is tuneful, funny, and constantly surprising, especially in this revolutionary new production from directors Jeffrey L. Page and Diane Paulus, featuring a cast that represents a range of races, ethnicities, and genders: the folks who weren’t included in the original founding of America. You may never think about this country the same way again.
The cast of 1776 identifies as female, transgender, and nonbinary. 

Running time: Two hours and forty-five minutes, including one fifteen-minute intermission.

Please be advised: This production contains stylized representations of racialized violence, particularly related to enslavement. Additionally, this production contains sexually suggestive themes, occasional strong language, haze, a brief strobe effect, a non-firing replica firearm, and a gunshot sound effect.

1776 Cast

John Adams (MA) (through Oct. 23)
Crystal Lucas-Perry
Robert Livingston (NY)
Gisela Adisa
George Read (DE)
Nancy Anderson
Col. Thomas McKean (DE)
Becca Ayers
Andrew McNair, Congressional Custodian
Tiffani Barbour
John Dickinson (PA)
Carolee Carmello
Abigail Adams / Rev. Jonathan Witherspoon (NJ)
Allyson Kaye Daniel
Thomas Jefferson (VA)
Elizabeth A. Davis
Charles Thomson, Secretary
Mehry Eslaminia
Stephen Hopkins (RI)
Joanna Glushak
Richard Henry Lee (VA)
Shawna Hamic
Martha Jefferson / Dr. Lyman Hall (GA)
Eryn LeCroy
John Adams (MA) (starting Oct. 25)
Kristolyn Lloyd
John Hancock, President of the Congress
Liz Mikel
Benjamin Franklin (PA)
Patrena Murray
Joseph Hewes (NC)
Oneika Phillips
Samuel Chase (MD)
Lulu Picart
Edward Rutledge (SC)
Sara Porkalob
Judge James Wilson (PA)
Sushma Saha
Roger Sherman (CT)
Brooke Simpson
Salome B. Smith
Dr. Josiah Bartlett (NH)
Sav Souza
Caesar Rodney (DE)
Jill Vallery
Shelby Acosta
Ariella Serur
Grace Stockdale
Dawn L. Troupe
Imani Pearl Williams

1776 Creative

Music and Lyrics
Sherman Edwards
Peter Stone
Based on a Concept by
Sherman Edwards
Jeffrey L. Page and Diane Paulus
Jeffrey L. Page
Set Design
Scott Pask
Costume Design
Emilio Sosa
Lighting Design
Jen Schriever
Sound Design
Jonathan Deans
Projection Design
David Bengali
Hair & Wigs
Mia Neal
Fight Choreographer
Thomas Schall
Dialect Coach
Dawn-Elin Fraser
John Clancy
Music Director
Ryan Cantwell
Vocal Design
AnnMarie Milazzo
Music Coordinator
Dean Sharenow
Associate Director
Brisa Areli Muñoz
Music Supervision
David Chase

1776 is a co-production with The American Repertory Theater.

Production support of 1776 at A.R.T: Katie and Paul Buttenwieser, The Linda Hammett Ory & Andrew Ory Charitable Trust, Allison Johnson, and Serena and Bill Lese.

Underwriting support for 1776 is provided by Elizabeth Armstrong. 

1776 benefits from Roundabout’s Musical Production Fund with lead gifts from the Horace W. Goldsmith Foundation, Michael Kors and Lance Le Pere, Diane and Tom Tuft, and Cynthia C. Wainwright and Stephen Berger. 

1776 is made possible by the Champions for Inclusive Theatre and Roundabout’s Forward Fund. We acknowledge the generous friends who support our many efforts to increase representation and inclusion in all aspects of theatre: Elizabeth Armstrong, Bank of America, Eugene and Joann Bissell and the Lillian Lincoln Foundation, R. Martin Chavez, Herbert W. Engert Jr. and Timothy Miller, EY, the Ford Foundation, Kenny Leon, Gina Maria Leonetti, Charles Randolph-Wright, Beryl Snyder, and Denise Littlefield Sobel.

Presented at

American Airlines Theatre℠

227 West 42nd Street

between 7th and 8th Avenues